Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-25-2012

Weekly Round-Up 9-25-2012

Visiting Writers’ Series Poetry Reading
Sep. 25, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 407
Award-winning poet, Steve Davenport: “Thoughts that breathe, and words that burn”
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Working Women of the World
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Word Problems - Geometry
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Graphing Part 1     
Sep. 26, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – LCM GCF
Sep. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Graphing Part 11
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Sep. 25, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – How are you Handling Life’s Stresses?
Sep. 26, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Math & English Anxiety
Sep. 27, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – How are you Handling Life’s Stresses?
Oct. 1 , 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Networking for Success
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 TAG (Transfer Admission Guarantee)
Sep. 26, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B Choosing a Career
Sep. 27, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B Choosing a Major/How to Choose the Right University
Sep. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 Choosing a Career
 
Honors Workshops
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research
Sep. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Oct. 1, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Applying for the Jack Kent Cooke and All-USA Scholarships
Oct. 1, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Preparation for the UCI Student Research Conference      
 
Congressional Candidate Forum
Sep. 25, 12:45 pm, SJC Theatre
Candidate forum with Raul Ruiz, Democratic candidate for the 45th Congressional District
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Sep. 25, 12:45 pm, MVC Rm. 851/ SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society Orientations
Sep. 25, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213
Sep. 26, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601
Sep. 27, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Sep. 25, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Sep. 26, 8:30 am, MVC Rm. 600 – Thesis
Oct. 1, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Tick Tock: Timed Writings and Essay Exams
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Book of the Month Club
Sep. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
ShakeOut 2012 Presentation
Sep. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805 / SJC Rm. 200
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805 / SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Eagles Veteran & Dependent Organization (EVDO) Meeting
Sep. 27, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805 / SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
ICTC Meeting
Sep. 28, 10 am, MVC Rm. 851 / SJC rm. 200
A key topic on the agenda is the acceptable use of District email.
For more information contact Brian Orlauski at 951-639-5080 or borlauski@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Oct. 1, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
The Great California ShakeOut
Oct. 18, 10:18 am
Sign-up as an individual participant: www.shakeout.org        Remember – “ShakeOut. Don’t Freak Out.”
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Komen Race for the Cure
Oct. 21, 2012  Promenade Mall, Temecula
Join Team MSJC!
For more information contact Laurie McLaughlin at 951-506-6466 or lmclaugh@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Center Grand Opening
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Support the MSJC Cheer Squad: Buy a Calendar
Help support the MSJC Cheer Squad!  The squad’s  2012-13 calendar is full of amazing photos at only $10 a piece!
Please help support the squad by purchasing your annual calendar today.  If you are interested, please contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu or Pascaline Barry-Grooms at pbarry@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Partners with WeTip
The Business Services department Risk Management staff announces this partnership to help support a crime free campus
For more information contact Kara McGee, Risk Management Coordinator, at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Summer Energy Conservation
In partnership with Southern California Edison, and in an effort to control energy costs, please manually shut-off all thermostats and unnecessary power, including electronics in your area, at the end of your work week.
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Grant Funding Availability
Grant funding opportunities that may help match a funding source to your program/project needs
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu
 
Enhanced Classified Senate Website
Learn more about who we are, what we do and what we have planned!
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu