Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-23-2013

Weekly Round-Up 4-23-2013

Reading Apprenticeship
Apr. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301
Brown-bag discussion on reading apprenticeship and literacy in the classroom
For more information contact Cathy Brostrand at 951-487-3641 or cbrostrand@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Apr. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Writing for Fun!
Apr. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, How to Get Involved!
Apr. 25, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Writing for Fun!
Apr. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Staying Focused!
Apr. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Memory and Concentration Techniques!
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Apr. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Oral Communication Skills/Presentations
Apr. 24, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Writing a Research Paper
Apr. 25, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Giving Back as a Tutor/Becoming an SI Leader
Apr. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1214 Using APA
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Apr. 23, 12:45 pm, SJC 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Choreography Showcase
Apr. 24, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or panaggi@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Apr. 24, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Writing Research Papers
Apr. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1214, Using APA
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Video Production Class Project
Apr. 25, SJC
The SJC Video Production class will be heading out on campus to find areas/classrooms/departments to film
For more information contact David Parrott at 951-487-3665 or dparrott@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Apr. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Gun Fight
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Institutional Program Review Committee Meeting
Apr. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Debbie Grace at 951-487-3075 or dgrace@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Apr. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Menifee Jazz Ensemble
Apr. 25 & 26, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Menifee Concert Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Dance Touring Ensemble in Concert
Apr. 25, 26, 27, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
“moving beyond the black and white”
For more information contact Tennille Lambert at 951-487-3630 or tlambert@msjc.edu
 
Student Success Summit
Apr. 26, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 805
Faculty, Join your colleagues in discussions of student success strategies and opportunities
For more information contact Evelyn Menz at 951-487-3488 or emenz@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Apr. 26, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Honors Nominations
Apr. 26 Deadline
Use the Honors Nomination Form to select a student for honors recognition:
For more information contact JoAnna Quejada at 951-639-5321 or jequejada@msjc.edu
 
PTK Induction and Awards Ceremony
Apr. 28, 1:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Grad Fair 2013
Apr. 30, 11:00 am, SJC Bookstore
For more information contact the Bookstore at 951-487-3130
 
Educational Outreach Lecture
Apr. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Congressman Raul Ruiz
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: Picking up the Pieces
Ends Apr. 30, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Multi-media artwork advocating suicide prevention, by Los Angeles artist Stacey Wexler, runs April 9 – 30th
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
I Voted, Did You?
Polling Ends May 1.
Help make MSJC #1 for a fifth year in a row through the Press Enterprise Readers Choice poll!
You can vote on all of your favorites, from restaurants to spas, or just scroll directly to the schools and colleges page and enter MSJC there. We will keep you posted when we find out the results: www.pe.com/readerschoice/   (Just click on the link or cut and paste it in your browser)
 
May 3rd Employee Appreciation Day
Thank You For Your Excellence
Softball Game: 8:30 a.m. on the SJC Baseball Diamond. Taco bar: 10:45 in SJC Library. Employee Recognition Reception: 11 a.m.
Want to join a softball team? Contact:
Marcus Castellanos for Classified at mcastellanos@msjc.edu
Faith Nobles for Administration Team at fnobles@msjc.edu
Glenn Stevenson for Faculty at gstevenson@msjc.edu
 
State Treasurer Logo Contest
The California State Treasurer’s Office is holding a logo contest. MSJC students, faculty and staff interested in participating should visit: http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/chffic/contest/index.asp
Contest ends May 31, 2013
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Summer 2013 District Operating Schedule
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
@One Technology Training Survey
Complete this survey about your technology training preferences:
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@one%20survey.pdf
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Fall 2013 Online Admissions Application
Admissions application is now open for students to access online
For more information contact Cheri Naish at 951-487-3210 or cnaish@msjc.edu
 
Company Nurse
In case of workplace injury, call the Injury Hotline at 877-518-6702
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
L-Com: Learning Communities
The MSJC Learning Communities Program is looking for faculty to teach in a learning community
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or  alramirez@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu