Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 2-26-2013

Weekly Round-Up 2-26-2013

Purchasing Cut-Off Date
Mar. 21, Noon
Mark your calendars! Purchasing cut-off is Thursday, March 21, 2013. All tangible purchase requisitions must be encumbered in Galaxy by noon. For more information contact Teri Sisco at 951-487-3110 or tsisco@msjc.edu or Tammy Cunningham at 951-487-3116 or tcunningham@msjc.edu
 
Contracts Database
The file for viewing Contracts on the “P” drive is down for maintenance while Business Services conducts updates. It should be back up sometime this week and notification will go out when the file is available for access. While the database is offline, if you have any questions contact Karen Watts at 951-487-3013 or kwatts@msjc.edu  or Melissa Ochoa at 951-487-3031 or mochoa@msjc.edu
 
Black History Month Film
Feb. 26, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Black King (1932)
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Feb. 26, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
“Como agua para chocolate” (1992) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Feb. 26, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Study Skills
Feb. 28, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Student Leadership
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Transferring to a 4-Year Institution
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Feb. 26, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Planning for Summer Internship/Programs
Feb. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Planning for Summer Internship/Programs
Feb. 28, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 Planning for Summer Internship/Programs
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Getting Involved on Campus
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Feb. 26, 12:45 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Payroll Distribution Information Meeting
Feb. 26, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm.805
Payroll check/direct deposit distribution process will be explained and questions will be answered for all employees, including certificated personnel.
For more information contact Teri Jerabek at 951-487-3050 or tjerabek@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Feb. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 Choosing a Major
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 10 Scholarships
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
SERP (Supplemental Employee Retirement Plan) Information Meetings
Feb. 27, 1:00 & 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Feb. 28, 10:00 am & 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Choreography Showcase
Feb. 27, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Works-in-progress show
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
San Jacinto Valley Women’s Conference
Feb. 28, 8:00 am – 3:00 pm, Soboba Springs Country Club
Buy your tickets now!
For more information contact Kathleen Osborne at 951-378-5737
 
Economics Lecture: The Men Who Built America
Feb. 28, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 927
3 part series on 5 men who helped build America: Vanderbilt, Rockefeller, Carnegie, Morgan and Ford
For more information contact Dan Pynn at dpynn@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Feb. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
SGA Movie Day
Feb. 28, 12:30 pm, SJC Cafeteria
Freedom Writers, celebrating black history
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Economic Forum with Venoo Kakar
Feb. 28, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Changing Financial Conditions and Monetary Policy
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Southwest Region Higher Ed EXPO
Feb. 28, 6:00 pm, Temecula Civic Center, 41000 Main St., Temecula, 92590
For more information contact Laurie McLaughlin at 951-506-6465 or lmclaugh@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Mar. 1, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Poetry Slam
Mar. 1, 12:00 pm, SJC Theatre
MSJC’s Black Student Union hosts this expressive and creative artistic event
For more information contact Alex Cuatok, Advisor, at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Submissions for Flight
Mar. 1 Deadline
Students can submit their writing or visual art for publication in MSJC’s Flight
For more information contact Richard Sisk at 951-487-3646 or rsisk@msjc.edu
 
LUNAFEST
Mar. 2, 10:00 am, SJC Theatre
 
Golden Eagles Big Bands
Mar. 3, 2:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Golden Eagles Big Bands 4th Annual Jazz Artist Series Concert
For more information contact the Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
SERP (Supplemental Employee Retirement Plan) Individual Meetings
Mar. 4-5, 8am – 5pm, SJC Rm. 200
Mar. 6-7, 8am – 5pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Mar. 4, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
In Whose Honor
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 Test Taking Tips
Mar. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm.409 Insightful Hints on Test Taking
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
 
Human Resources Training/Workshops
Mar. 8, 9:00 am – Noon, Video Conference                     Advanced Investigations of Harassment Complaints in Community College Districts
Mar. 8, 1:00 pm, - 4 pm, Video Conference                       Workplace Bullying: A Growing Concern
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Accreditation Follow Up Report Draft
The Board of Trustees was provided with copies of the draft Accreditation Follow-Up Report for review/information. The report will be placed on the March 14, 2013 Board of Trustees meeting as an Action Item for approval and will then be submitted to the ACCJC on Friday, March 15, 2013.
For more information contact Rebecca Teague at 951-487-3072 or rteague@msjc.edu
 
“Get Satisfaction” On-Line Support is Now Available for Students
For more information contact Pat James at 951-639-5440 or pjames@msjc.edu
 
Eagle Career Connection
Career & Technical Education announces a new online job database
For more information contact Kristen Burleson at 951-639-5258 or kburleson@msjc.edu
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing January – March, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu