Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-5-2013

Weekly Round-Up 11-5-2013

Art Gallery Exhibit
Nov. 5 - Dec. 13, SJC Art Gallery
“Dorland Mountain Artist Colony Associate Artists Exhibition”
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Retirement Celebration Honoring Becky Mitchell
Nov. 5, 12:00 pm, SJC 200 Building Courtyard
Nov. 7, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5321 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Bendiceme Ultima (2013) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Oral Communication & Presentations
Nov. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Interview Skills
Nov. 6, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Using APA
Nov. 7, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Oral Communication Skills/Presentations
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 -            “                 “                     “
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Staying Focused
Nov. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Exploring Careers
Nov. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 –      “           “
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Metric System
Nov. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Basic Geometry
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Quadratic Formula
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Guest Speaker – Dr. Trenham, Professor of Theology, St. Katherine College, Encinitas
Nov. 5, 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
The Influence of Christianity and Religion on American Society and the Influence of America on Religion
For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu
 
Veterans Month Event
Nov. 6 – 30, MVC Building 500
Veterans Recognition Window, hosted by Nursing and Allied Health
For more information contact Kristen Gomez at 951-639-5578 or kgomez@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Nov. 6, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – CSU Application
Nov. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 951 – UC Application
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 6, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Using APA
Nov. 6, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Sentence Styles
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Nov. 6, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Center Grand Opening
Nov. 7, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1560
The event will include esteemed guest speakers, honor guard presentation, local military organizations and association vendors
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-487-3248 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center - Food & Culture Lecture
Nov. 7, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center Theatre
Planting “Patriarch”: Consequences of Male Dominated Production
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
History Film Festival
Nov. 8, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
Forging a Celluloid Nation: the Cinema of John Ford presents - The Quiet Man (1952)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Day Holiday – College Closed
Nov. 11th
The District will revert back to the 5-day 8-hour per day work schedule for the week & timesheet deadline is Nov. 8th
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
 
Author Reading/Presentation
Nov. 12, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 927
Award-winning author, William Luvaas, will read and engage in a discussion about the craft of creative writing
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm.200
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu or Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974
Mindstorm Robotics
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Business and Economic Forum
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Economics: Behavioral, Experimental, and Evolutionary with Dr. Roger Arnold
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Gilman Springs Road Closure
Ends Dec. 4
Gilman Springs Road will be closed October 21 – December 4, 2013 to through traffic between SR-60 and Bridge Street
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
Summer 2014 Department of Energy Internship/Fellowship Opportunity
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu