Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-13-2012

Weekly Round-Up 11-13-2012

MSJC Wins Best College Again in Readers Choice Awards!
This marks the 4th year that MSJC earns the top spot in The Press-Enterprise awards
 
Salary schedules are now available on the HR website
 
PTK Holiday Food & Toy Drive Nominations Wanted
Nominate students with families that need a little extra support during the holidays!
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Visiting Writers Series Author Reading: Duff Brenna
Nov. 13, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 407
Award-Winning Novelist, Duff Brenna, will read from his memoir, Murdering the Mom
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
SGA Thankfulness Barbeque
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-487-3267 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Basic Skills Committee Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Economic Film Series
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Too Big to Fail
For more information contact Dan Pynn at dpynn@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Chapter Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Career & Tech Ed Workshop
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101
For more information contact Jeri Siqueiros at 951-487-3437 or jerisiqueiros@gmail.com
 
MVC Site Council Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Factor Polynomials
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Percents & the Basic Percent Equation     
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Scientific Calculators
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Nov. 13, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Math Anxiety
Nov. 14, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Preparation to go to a 4-Year University
Nov. 15, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Math Anxiety
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Manners Matter
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Career & Technical Ed Workshop
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 1012
For more information contact Jeri Siqueiros at 951-487-3437 or jerisiqueiros@gmail.com
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Oral Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Oral Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Nov. 19, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Using APA
 
World Cinema
Nov. 13, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Machuca (2004) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
President’s “State of the College” Luncheon & Fall Scholarship Awards Ceremony
Nov. 14, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 805
Hosted by the Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation
For more information contact Diane Boss at 951-487-3171 or dboss@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 CSU Application
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B UC Application
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 UC Application
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B CSU Application
 
Financial Aid Workshop
Nov. 14, 4:00 pm, TEC Rm. 208
For more information contact Michelle Daniely at 951-639-5238 or mdaniely@msjc.edu
 
GIS Day 2012
Nov. 14, 6 pm, MVC Rm. 901
Registration and the event flier are available at:  http://msjcgisday2012.eventbrite.com
GIS Day and Geography Awareness Week: www.gisday.com  or  www.GeographyAwarenessWeek.org
For more information contact LuAnna Dobson at lDobson@msjc.edu
 
Environmental Conservation Conference
Nov. 15, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 928
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
SGA Thankfulness Barbeque
Nov. 15, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-487-3267 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-539-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
IPRC Meeting
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
Institutional Program Review Committee
For more information contact Debbie Grace at 951-487-3075 or dgrace@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at shayshayni@gmail.com
 
SEA Meeting
Nov. 15, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932
Student Economic Association
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
EVDO Meeting
Nov. 15, 3:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 911
Eagles Veteran & Dependent Organization
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Nov. 15, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
Phi Theta Kappa
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Dance Company in Concert
Nov. 15, 16, 17, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Nov. 18, 2:00 pm
Dancing Through…a concert of original dances by students and faculty
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
STEM Reading Apprenticeship Training
Nov. 16, 8:00 am, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Presents: The Comedy of Errors
Nov. 16 & 17, 7:30 pm
Nov. 18, 2:30 pm SJC Theatre
Shakespeare weaves the farcical situations that occur when Antipholus goes in search of his long lost twin brother with the help of his servant, Dromio.
Box Office: 951-487-3790
For more information contact Lorney O’Connor at 951-487-3791or loconnor@msjc.edu
 
SGA Fundraiser: KFC Dine-In
Nov. 17, 11:00 am – 10:00 pm, KFC, 2890 W. Florida Ave, Hemet
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-487-3267 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 19, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Using APA
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using MLA
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Holiday Food Drive
Now through Nov. 19, All Campuses
Sponsored by the Classified Senate
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Budrus                                                                                                                                                                       
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Honors Faculty Training Workshop
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
West Point Military Academy Presentation
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Cadet Sergeants Trent Reece and Peter Lee will offer a presentation on attending West Point Military Academy
For more information contact Erin Spurbeck at 951-639-5397 or espurbeck@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: A.R.T.E.R.Y. “1000 Hours: Measuring Time”
Now through Nov. 21st, SJC Art Gallery
Art, Recognition, Transition, Education, Reciprocation, Youth exhibit runs through Nov. 21st
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
iPad Giveaway for Students
Ride RTA and Win an iPad
Winner will be chosen Nov. 26th
For more information contact Susan Loomis at 951-639-5212 or sloomis@msjc.edu
 
Webinar Training: Preventing Harassment, Discrimination and Retaliation in the Academic Setting/Environment
Nov. 30, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Advanced Labor Negotiations Roundtable
Dec. 7, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Early Time Sheet Notification for Holidays
Certificated Substitutes, Hourly Certificated, Professional Experts, Stipends and Special Projects employees
For more information contact Teri Jerabek, Payroll Department, at 951-487-3050 or tjerabek@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Program Accepting Applications for Spring 2013
Students are encouraged to submit the application as soon as possible. Space is limited!
For more information contact Ketmani Kouanchao at 951-487-3290 or kkouanchao@msjc.edu
 
STEM Club Smart Card iPhone Fundraiser
With a one-year Smart Card membership of only $30, you’ll receive discounts with over 700 local places in Temecula & Murrieta, and the STEM Club will receive 50% back from each card sold!
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing through December
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu