Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-12-2013

Weekly Round-Up 11-12-2013

Holiday Canned Food Drive
Now through Nov. 20, MVC & SJC
Hosted by the Classified Senate and CSEA, for details and drop-off locations click here:
For more information contact Sandy Darnell at 951-487-3480 or sdarnell@msjc.edu
 
Goodwill Drive Fundraiser
Start saving your donations for the week of Dec. 2 – 7
Hosted by the Classified Senate, donations will help raise money for scholarships, classified development and other activities
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 941-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Author Reading/Presentation
Nov. 12, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 927
Award-winning author, William Luvaas, will read and engage in a discussion about the craft of creative writing
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
Nov. 12, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Club Guest Speaker
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
The Political Science Club welcomes Cameron Walz with the Neighborhood Legislature Initiative
For more information contact Robert Valenzuela at robby.valenzuela76@gmail.com
 
Site Council Meeting
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm.200
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu or Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Mindstorm Robotics
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 -            “                 “                     “
Nov. 14, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Using MLA
Nov. 19, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Annotated Bibliographies
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Quadratic Formula
Nov. 13, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Percentages
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Business and Economic Forum
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Economics: Behavioral, Experimental, and Evolutionary with Dr. Roger Arnold
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Fall Scholarship Luncheon
Nov. 13, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 805
Foundation Fall Scholarship Luncheon
For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3170 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Ice Cream Social
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, Staff break rooms, SJC Cafeteria/MVC Building 100
Come take a break with your fellow classified employees
For more information contact Kaye Melsheimer at 951-639-5523 or kmelsheimer@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – UC Application
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 951 – CSU Application
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Resumes and Interviews
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Math Anxiety
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Memory and Concentration
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Nov. 13, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
Unconstitutional: The War on our Civil Liberties
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Heist: Who Stole the American Dream
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Brainstorming and Pre-Writing
Nov. 14, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Writing Research Papers
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Using MLA
Nov. 19, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Annotated Bibliographies
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Nov. 14, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487
Featuring guest speaker Ben Huter, Engineer & Quality Assurance Manager
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
PTK Academic Decathlon
Nov. 15, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 927
Phi Theta Kappa announces: Scholars in Action Academic Decathlon
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
Nov. 15, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Tetrix Metal Robotics
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Mentors Event: How to Put on a Kimono
Nov. 15, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408
A live demonstration on How to Put on a Kimono, by Miss Kimono LA
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
TEDx Temecula
Nov. 16, Noon – 7:00 pm, Temecula City Hall Conference Center
Guest speakers include Guy Reams and Vanessa Sheldon
 
Orchestra Concert
Nov. 17, 4:00 pm, SJC Theatre
MSJC Orchestra Fall Concert
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
IPRC Meeting
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
Institutional Program Review Committee
For more information contact Debbie Grace at 951-487-3075 or dgrace@msjc.edu
 
Veterans Month Event
Ends Nov. 30, MVC Building 500
Veterans Recognition Window, hosted by Nursing and Allied Health
For more information contact Kristen Gomez at 951-639-5578 or kgomez@msjc.edu
 
Charles Hawkins Retirement Celebration
Dec. 3, 10:30 am, MVC Rm. 805
Dec. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Building 200 Courtyard
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Gilman Springs Road Closure
Ends Dec. 4
Gilman Springs Road will be closed October 21 – December 4, 2013 to through traffic between SR-60 and Bridge Street
 
Pat James Retirement Celebration
Dec. 11 – Save the Date & Send any photos you may have of Pat!
11:30 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Shelley Excell-Wertman at 951-639-5441 or swertman@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Ends Dec. 13, SJC Art Gallery
“Dorland Mountain Artist Colony Associate Artists Exhibition”
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
Summer 2014 Department of Energy Internship/Fellowship Opportunity
 
Time to start phasing out the 50th Anniversary Logo
December is the last month we can use MSJC’s 50th anniversary logo. If you are creating a flier now for a January event, please revert back to the official college logo. Find all logos at www.msjc.edu/logo
Or look on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu