Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-4-2011

Weekly Round-Up 10-4-2011

Accreditation Question of the Week: What are the Four Standards of Accreditation?
Answer: 1)Institutional Mission & Effectiveness 2)Student Learning Programs & Services 3)Resources 4)Leadership & Governance
Congratulations to the Winners!
Classified: Justin Bennett
Faculty/Associate Faculty: Miranda Angeles
(Winners: please reply to this email to arrange delivery of your prize!)
 
MSJC T-Shirt Club
Show your MSJC spirit! Join the MSJC T-Shirt Club for only $5 a month.
 
The Great California Shake Out
Click on these links to find out more about the Oct. 20 event and to buy a Shake Out T-shirt
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or go to:   www.shakeout.org
 
National Tutor Appreciation Week
Oct. 3-7
This week the Learning Resource Center’s are observing “National Tutor Appreciation Week,”  and ask students, staff and faculty to thank our tutors for all their wonderful academic support they provide for our students and MSJC community throughout the academic year!
For more information contact Albert Jimenez at 951-639-5481 or ajimenez@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery – “Art of Ability”
Oct. 3-20, M-Th, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
In recognition of Disabilities Awareness Month
For more information contact Brandy Dillaway at 951-487-3585 or bdillaway@msjc.edu
 
Earthquakes: How, When and Why
Oct. 4, 12:30
A presentation by Quaternary Geomorphologist, Dr. Patrick Smith, CEG
 
Hispanic Heritage Month Speaker: Gerry Lopez, Riverside County Sr. Deputy District Attorney
The Student Government Association hosts this dynamic speaker, in honor of National Hispanic Heritage Month.
SJC: Oct. 4, 12:30                            MVC: Oct. 13, 12:30
 
Math Workshops-MVC
Oct. 4, 12:30 Graphing Part 1            Oct. 6, 12:30 Linear Equations-Graphing Part 11
For more information contact Patrick Kenyon at pkenyon@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops: Avoiding Plagiarism
SJC: Oct. 4, 12:30
MVC: Oct. 6, 12:30
 
iStudent Workshops
SJC   How to Stay Out of Trouble
Oct. 4, 12:30 p.m.         
MVC First Generation
Oct. 5, 1:00 p.m.            Oct. 6, 12:30 p.m.
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema: Tell No One (French)
Oct. 4, 4 p.m.
 
Early Alert Clinic
Oct.4-Oct. 14
The Early Alert program is designed to provide timely intervention for students identified by the faculty as having behavioral or academic challenges in their classes.
 
Math Workshops-SJC
Oct. 5, 1 p.m. Scientific Calculators          Oct. 6, 1 p.m. Word Problems-Geometry
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Oct. 5, 3:00 p.m.
View the meeting agenda and minutes from the last meeting below. For more information contact Sandy Darnell at sdarnell@msjc.edu
 
Eagles Veteran & Dependent Organization
Oct. 5, 4 p.m.
Meetings-SJC 1111 & MVC 851
Promoting education, professionalism and camaraderie among veterans, members of the armed forces and dependents of veterans
 
Send Silence Packing
Oct. 6, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
An SGA and RivCo Dept of Mental Health event to bring awareness to the college student suicide rate
 
Business Summit
Oct. 6, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Bear Creek Golf Club Murrieta
For more information contact Karena Chum at 951-639-5567 or kchum@msjc.edu
 
India: Images Past and Present
Oct. 6, 12:30
Join Professor Jim Davis as he shares his five-week trip to India. For more information contact Jim at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Diversity Committee Meeting
Oct. 7, 10:30 a.m.
SJC 200 / MVC 805
For more information contact Valerie Reed at 951-639-5690 or Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu
 
Poetry and Music Club-MVC
Oct. 7, 11a.m.
For students who write poetry or lyrics and are interested in music, whether it be playing an instrument, producing, free-styling, or just enjoying music with a desire to share what they are interested in.
 
History & Humanities Film: Sergeant York
Oct. 7, 6-10 p.m.
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Performing Arts-SJC: A Piece of My Heart
Oct. 7 & 8 @ 7:30 p.m.  and  Oct. 9 @ 2:30 p.m.
A play by Shirley Lauro
 
Economic Forum: How Politics and Economics Don’t Always Mix
Oct. 10, 10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
 
Free Chipotle for MSJC Staff
Oct. 10, 11a.m.-7 p.m.
Chipotle (Menifee & Hemet) will once again offer free food ONLY to MSJC Staff
Bring your staff ID or MSJC business card, pay stub or anything that shows you work at MSJC
 
Counseling Workshops
SJC: How to Pick the Right University
Oct. 10, 2:00 p.m.
MVC: How to Pick the Right University
Oct. 12, 2:00 p.m.
 
Amnesty International Film: A Class Divided
Oct. 11, 12:30
 
Faculty Book of the Month Club: Jane Eyre
Oct. 11, 12:30
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Film: Secrets of the Bog People: Prehistoric Graveyard
Oct. 11, 12:30
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Center-MVC
Oct. 12, 9 a.m. Grammar Questions
 
Holocaust Survivor Lecture-SJC
Oct. 13, 12:30
 
Race for the Cure
Oct. 16, 8 a.m. - Noon
Join the team or donate: www.msjc.edu/cure
 
Continuing Education Career Training Orientation: Pharmacy-Banning
Oct. 17, 9 a.m.
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Lecture Series at Western Science Center: New Improved Movies-Now with Real Truth!
Oct. 20, 7 p.m.
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts-MVC: Metamorphoses
Oct. 20 – 23
A play by Mary Zimmerman
 
FAVE Jamboree-MVC
Oct. 21, 8 a.m.-1 p.m.
High School students explore careers in video and animation at MSJC
 
Classified Halloween Department Decorating Contest
Oct. 21-Oct. 31
Halloween décor must meet  District Fire/Life & Safety Compliance
 
Veteran’s Day Celebration!
Nov. 8 MVC     Nov. 10 SJC
 
Classified Fundraisers: TV Show Tapings
Nov. 11  Are You There Vodka? It’s Me Chelsea                     Dec. 16 Hot In Cleveland
 
New Communications Workers of America Contract
 
Accreditation and Self Study 2011 video
Superintendent/President Schultz presents Accreditation in a nutshellwww.msjc.edu/PresidentsCorner
 
FA11 Final Exam Schedule
For more information, faculty members are encouraged to contact their deans.
 
The MSJC Cheer Squad is selling calendars as a fundraiser!
Calendars run from July 2011-July 2012 for $10. Money earned will help offset the cost of uniforms, equipment, pom-poms and cheer camp.
Call or email Coach Barry at 951-240-9151 or  pbarry@msjc.edu
 
RTA GoPass Program
 
Follow us on Facebook!
If you’re a Facebook user…be sure to “like” us