Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-22-2013

Weekly Round-Up 10-22-2013

College Fair
Oct. 22, 10:00 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Parking Lot C
Hosted by the Career/Transfer Center, the College Fair gives students an opportunity to meet with university representatives
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Anger Management Presentation
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 355B/SJC Rm. 205 (Space limited, RSVP Lynn Mann at lmann@msjc.edu)
Garry Raley, Associate Faculty, PSYC, will present to our Classified Staff
 
Human Rights Film Series
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
Hosted by the Diversity Committee: Iranium with guest speaker Tamara Smith, History Professor
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Creating your Portfolio/Resume
Oct. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Memory & Concentration Techniques
Oct. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Creating your Portfolio/Resume
Oct. 28, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Stress & Anxiety
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Midterm Preparations
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Memory & Concentration
Oct. 23, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research Follow-Up
Oct. 24, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Memory & Concentration
Oct. 28, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411 – Stress Management
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Stress Management
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Concentration while Writing
Oct. 29, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Commas
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Business Economic Forum
Oct. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Financial Literacy for Everyone, with Darren Canada, JD, CFP, Registered Principle, Raymond James Financial Services, Inc.
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band Fall Concert
Oct. 22, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The sounds of autumn will fill the theatre when the MSJC Concert Band presents its Fall Concert
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – CSU Application
Oct. 24, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 951 – UC Application
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 23, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
Oct. 24, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Solving Quadratic Equations
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Algebraic Fractions
Oct. 29, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 –  Insightful Hints on Math Anxiety
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Water Wonders 2013 Reception
Oct. 23, 6:30 pm, EVMWD Headquarters
Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District & MSJC present a collection of photo images and art canvasses by our students
For more information contact Keith Hanz, at 951-639-5546 or khanz@msjc.edu
 
IPRC Meeting
Oct. 24, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
Institutional Program Review Committee
For more information contact Debbie Grace at 951-487-3075 or dgrace@msjc.edu
 
SGA Bonfire & PTK Halloween Fest
Oct. 24, 6:30 pm, SJC Quad
Celebrate the 50th Anniversary Homecoming with food, fun, games and the ceremonial lighting of the bonfire!
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-487-3267 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 25, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
Oct. 25, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Tetrix Metal Robotics
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
Oct. 25, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, MVC
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Theatre Arts Presents: William Shakespeare’s “The Taming of the Shrew”
Oct. 25, 26 @ 7:30 pm, Oct. 27 @ 2:30 pm, SJC Studio Theatre
Directed by Paul Jacques, costume design by Cherie Riley, set design by Darren De Priest
For more information contact the Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Blackboard Down for Maintenance
Oct. 25, 10:00 pm – Oct. 26, 2:00 am
Blackboard (my.msjc.edu) will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance. You may still continue to access other services via the following URLs:
EagleAdvisor:  https://ea.msjc.edu
Student E-mail: http://student.msjc.edu
Faculty and Staff E-mail: http://eaglemail.msjc.edu
 
Motorcycle Run
Oct. 26, 7:30 am, MVC to SJC
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Community BBQ & Homecoming Football Game
Oct. 26, 11:30 am, SJC Stadium
Community BBQ, sponsored by the Soboba Foundation. Free with paid admission to the Homecoming Football Game
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
MVC Performing Arts together with the Fine Arts Network Present: PIPPIN
Ends Oct. 27, Old Town Temecula Community Theatre
PIPPIN is the 2013 Tony Award Winner for Best Musical Revival! For tickets call 866-653-8696
For more information contact Lori Torok at 951-639-5630 or ltorok@msjc.edu
 
Video Production Class Filming on Campus
Oct. 28, SJC
Students will be out looking for classrooms, departments and campus locations to film a video project
For more information contact David Parrott at 951-487-3665 or dparrott@msjc.edu
 
Eagle Day – College Fair 2013
Oct. 29, 10:00 am, SJC Parking Lot B
New and prospective students and their families can obtain information about our programs and services
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5321 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Guest Speaker
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The Honorable Judge Jorge C. Hernandez will speak about “Becoming a Leader in the Community in the Midst of Adversities”
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Photography Department Guest Speaker
Oct. 29, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Local professional photographer Karl Kravats will share his product photography…Food as Art!
For more information contact Keith Hanz at 951-639-5546 or khanz@msjc.edu
 
Halloween Decorating & Costume Contest
Now through Oct. 31, 9:00 am – Noon, MVC & SJC
The Classified Senate is holding its annual decorating and costume contest
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Pink October
In support of breast cancer awareness month, the MSJC Komen Race Committee is asking everyone to wear pink on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout the month of October.
 
MSJC 2014 Academy - Call for Proposals
Due Nov. 1, 2013
 
Gilman Springs Road Closure
Ends Dec. 4
Gilman Springs Road will be closed October 21 – December 4, 2013 to through traffic between SR-60 and Bridge Street
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu