Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-1-2013

Weekly Round-Up 10-1-2013

Pink October
In support of breast cancer awareness month, the MSJC Komen Race Committee is asking everyone to wear pink on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout the month of October.
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Student Leadership
Oct. 1, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 3, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Student Leadership
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Planning for Summer Internship/Programs
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Getting Involved on Campus
Oct. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Planning for Summer Internship/Programs
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Mid-Term Preparation
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Transferring: Know the Facts
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Systems of Equations
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Test Taking Tips
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Test Taking Tips
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 1, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Crafting for an Audience
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Oct. 2, 11:30 am, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Sandy Darnell at 951-487-3480 or sdarnell@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 -     “            “
Oct. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Oct. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 -      “             “
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Personal Statement
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 -      “               “
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film Series
Oct. 2, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Crossing Arizona
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 2, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series: Food & Culture
Oct. 3, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center Theatre
Politics of Food Safety
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Parking Lot Closures
Oct. 4, 6:00 am – Oct. 7, 7:00 am, MVC Lots B, C, & D
For more information contact Angela Garcia at 951-639-5108 or agarcia@msjc.edu
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
Oct. 4, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Tetrix Metal Robotics
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
City of Menifee 5th Annual Birthday Bash
Oct. 5, 4:00 -  9:00 pm, MVC
Outreach requests your attendance at the Birthday Party for the City of Menifee!
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
STEM Skills Workshop
Oct. 7, 3:45 pm, SJC Rm. 1214
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at lsims@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Site Council Meeting
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Meeting
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm.805
“Intouchables” (2011) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
MVC Performing Arts together with the Fine Arts Network Present: PIPPIN
Oct. 10, Old Town Temecula Community Theatre
PIPPIN is the 2013 Tony Award Winner for Best Musical Revival! For tickets call 866-653-8696
For more information contact Lori Torok at 951-639-5630 or ltorok@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Community Outreach Art Exhibition: a.r.t.e.r.y.
Now through Oct. 17, SJC Art Gallery
Art Gallery Hours: M-Th 10am – 4pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Race for the Cure
Oct. 20th
Sign up Now for Team MSJC!
To ensure that you get the t-shirt size you’d like, register for the MSJC team by midnight on October 1. You may register up until Oct. 14, but risk not getting an MSJC t-shirt. Race packets will be distributed Oct. 16th @ MVC and Oct. 17th @ SJC.
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
Oct. 25, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, MVC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Motorcycle Run
Oct. 26, 7:30 am, MVC to SJC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Community BBQ & Homecoming Football Game
Oct. 26, 11:30 am, SJC Stadium
Community BBQ, sponsored by the Soboba Foundation. Free with paid admission to the Homecoming Football Game
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
Now Open
 
Human Resources MVC Location/Hours & Updated “Who Does What in HR”
Effective October 1, 2013, HR will have an increased presence at MVC. Office hours: every Tuesday, 8am – 5pm, in Bldg. 1021, Rm. 1021A.
 
Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey
Have your students take the Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey!
For more information contact Susanne Mata, smata@msjc.edu or 487-3435.
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu